Home > Uncategorized > Farewell until January 2020

Farewell until January 2020

I will not post again on this blog until January 2020, for several reasons.

The first is personal: I wrote this blog when I was recuperating from illness and now, having recuperated (well, having recovered as much as I’m ever going to recover) I need to focus on other things.  Like getting outside more often.

The second is tactical: I have learned that one should never record over an extended period the failings or errors or corruptions of any entity that survives on intimidation or coercion.  Those who have infiltrated and then reported on the Mafia – not a good career move.  Those who have infiltrated and then reported on the Federal Reserve in the US – not a good career move.  Those who have infiltrated and reported on any powerful government entity – not a good career move. 

Keep it short, sweet, to the point and then leave it alone.  In other words, run.

The third is strategic: I have made a very intense, focused effort in the time I had available to provide a full-spectrum view from an Austrian perspective of current trends and events.  None of the developments I see on the horizon are good developments.  They are all bad.  Nevertheless, I have tried to record these developments, these dynamics, and predict the inevitable dénouement. 

When something is unsustainable it inevitably has to end.  That which cannot continue forever will not continue forever.  I think the trends recorded here on this blog are so obvious, and the conclusions to be so inevitable that there is no point repeating and repeating the same points over and over.  They will repeat themselves again and again this decade.  Until something breaks.  When and how the “break” occurs I cannot say.  Whether it occurs this decade or next I cannot say.  But something will “break”, as Robert K Landis has pointed out.

Regular readers will by now be 100% aware of my recommendations to prepare yourself for the inevitable break.  There is no need to re-hash this advice here.  For those who have not been regular readers to this blog, if you click on the “investment tips” archive on the home page to this blog you will quickly understand my investment perspective to ensure maximum protection during the coming inevitable dénouement.

Bill Bonner could have made his “Trade of Decade” in 2000 and then not said a word for ten years, except to say “I told you so” in January 2010.  Instead, his kept his Daily Reckoning site updated for our amusement each weekday throughout the naughties and made great money from his website and his associated businesses.  I do not propose to do the same.  I have made my predictions, my “Trade of the Decade”, and I now propose to sign off on this blog until January 2020, when we can all reconvene to compare notes and assess the success of this and other “Trades of the Decade”.

I ended up with an average of around 50 regular readers.  Nearly 8 years of academic research and work lies behind this blog.  And for all this work I reached an average of around 50 people.  Those people received some very valuable information, but clearly my message was reaching a very narrow audience and not many people care to hear the message.  For those who were regular readers, I trust the information has been valuable to you.  I also trust you can see the trends that will play out this year and this decade as clearly as I can.

For those individuals who reach this blog after I sign off, there are over 300 blog posts analysing social and economic and investment trends on this website.  I hope each and every one of my posts has as much relevance in 10 years’ time as it does today.  You are still welcome to search through the archives of this blog to your heart’s content at any time over the next 10 years.

I am confident the links provided on the right-hand side of my home page will keep you informed and entertained over the next 10 years.  Please access these sites if you wish further updates on investment trends.

If I am alive, I will post again in January 2020, to assess the accuracy of my predictions.

Until then, be good to yourself. 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Alice
    September 21, 2010 at 9:30 am

    2020 – do you think Fianncial Armageddon is still to come? I do.

  2. November 10, 2010 at 4:38 am

    Yes. Gold is telling us that. Remember when I told you to buy (at least) silver from the Perth Mint? Too late my darling. Too late.

    • Alice
      November 25, 2010 at 9:14 am

      yes too late now….instead bought a dump of a unit…company title…but its still not garmland and these maniacs are still on the road to armageddon

    • Alice
      November 25, 2010 at 9:15 am

      I love it when you call me darling..

      • Alice
        November 25, 2010 at 9:16 am

        Fancy disguising yourself as 2020 vision…it took me almost 12 hours to figure that one out

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

